“…with the greatest disgust, Fiona Flack”

I took my mother’s typewriter down tonight and tried to write this story. Once I’d cleaned the dust off, I slid in a sheet of A4 and tested the keys. The heads left nothing but dusty impressions on the page. Determined to extract something meaningful from the typewriter, I changed tack.

I took out a legal pad and pen. For the next several hours, I held the spool up to the light and read it in reverse. I noted down every letter, punctuation mark and space in order as I went, until the pad was full. By dawn, I had reconstructed the last letter my mother had ever typed, and copied it into a note on my phone.

The letter was headed:

“Catholic Diocese of Ballarat,”

And began:

“To whom it may concern.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started